Skip to Content

15 Thriller Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

Share this post:

Get all the best psychological thriller books like Verity by Colleen Hoover to read after you turn the last page of this shocking, twisted romantic suspense book.

  • New York Times Bestseller
  • USA Today Bestseller
  • The Globe and Mail Bestseller
  • Publishers Weekly Bestseller

Verity is a very different type of novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author who does usually write about modern romance, but usually not in the context of a disturbing thriller.

It's undoubtedly one of the best Colleen Hoover books -- it's my personal favorite, and it's also popular with readers of The Literary Lifestyle and Bookstagrammers worldwide. Chances are that you're here because you already read it and loved it too.

To recap, in Verity, author Verity Crawford has sustained terrible injuries in an accident and cannot complete her books. Her husband, Jeremy, hires struggling writer Lowen Ashleigh to act as a ghost writer.

As Lowen sorts through Verity's materials, she finds Verity's autobiography, which is filled with an array of chilling events sure to make you gasp. At the same time, Lowen develops feelings for Jeremy, and strange things begin to happen, leaving you questioning everything you thought you knew about Verity.

Since it's open-ended, readers often ask:

Is there a book after Verity?

The answer is technically "no," but a special Collector's Edition of Verity (publication date: September 27, 2022) contains an exclusive new chapter and a letter from the author.

But, if you're really just looking for books similar to Verity, the below books contain some of these similarities for you to devour:

  • Psychological thriller
  • Romantic suspense novel
  • Unreliable female characters
  • Dark and disturbing plots
  • Shocking twists
  • Characters who are writers and journalists

Top 3 Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

Below are my top 3 best books to read if you liked Verity.

the bestselling book on The Literary Lifestyle, centered on two untrustworthy women vying for one man

the original modern thriller with an unreliable female at the heart of the story

a shocking and disturbing thriller with dark themes involving motherhood that leaves you guessing

More Books Like Verity by Colleen Hoover

If you're still wondering, "What are books similar to Verity?" below are details about the top 3 and more books like Verity by Colleen Hoover.

The Ghostwriter by Allessandra Torre

The Ghostwriter is reminiscent of Verity because it's about a bestselling writer telling her life story via a ghostwriter. She's told a huge lie to the police, as well as her friends and family, and she's determined to write one last jaw-dropping story about how her husband died.


Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  • #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller
  • One of the most influential books of the decade by CNN
  • One of TIME10 best fiction books of the decade
  • One of ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLYS best books of the decade

Gone Girl is the original of modern psychological thriller books, and it is one shocking and sinister books about an unreliable female narrator.

You've probably already read it or watched the movie, but if not, the story is about a wife who goes missing on her 5th wedding anniversary, and the husband who becomes the prime suspect in her disappearance, as the evidence unfolds and all points towards him.

But, the story takes dark and unexpected turns from there. I recommend this book if you are looking for a dark thriller like Verity.


The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine

The Last Mrs. Parrish has consistently been one of the bestselling books on my blog for several years now.

The main character Amber is a woman with a plan for a bigger life -- to take over the life of wealthy Daphne Parrish and become the new Mrs. Parrish. Amber and Daphne become friends, and the pieces of Amber's plans start to fall in place, but they have unexpected results.

I recommend this book if you want a very female-based thriller with untrustworthy women vying for one man, in the vein of Verity.


Layla by Colleen Hoover

  • Wall Street Journal bestseller 
  • USA Today bestseller

I included Layla on this list of books like Verity because it's the most similar of Colleen Hoover's books, which are generally romantic, but not thrilling. This one likewise has suspense and an unreliable female lead, as well as a ghost!

Leeds wants to spend his life with Layla, but he's torn because she was left a different woman as the result of a violent attack. When they retreat to a "bed and breakfast," Layla's behavior becomes downright bizarre, and that's not the only odd thing happening in this place.

When Layla meets a "guest" named Willow, he starts falling for her, which ultimately leads to him learning the truth about what happened to Layla and the strange occurrences.


Lock Every Door by Riley Sager

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Lock Every Door isn't totally like Verity, but something about this Riley Sager book still feels similar to me. I think it's because there are unexplained events that happen in a residence, and the reader doesn't know who to trust.

Twentysomething Jules feels like she hit the lottery when she gets a job apartment sitting at the renowned New York City building. But the building's rules are odd: No visitors. No nights spent away from the apartment. No disturbing the other rich and famous residents.

Then, things get even weirder when another apartment sitter in the building goes missing and leaves behind a note: Be careful.

In her quest to find Ingrid, Jules digs into the building's sordid past, which catches up with the present and a major twist, like Verity, leaves her fighting for her life.


Misery by Stephen King

#1 New York Times bestseller

Like Verity, Misery is a thriller about a bestselling novelist, Paul Sheldon. He’s just killed off the beloved protagonist of his popular romance books.

And, after a near-fatal car accident, Paul finds himself being nursed back to health by his biggest fan, Annie, whose upset about the direction of his writing and will go to any extreme to get what she wants from him.


The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda

The Perfect Stranger is another "writer thriller" about a journalist named Leah who moves in with an old friend named Emmy in order for the chance to start over and leave her past behind.

But, when Emmy disappears, Leah finds herself as the target of the police investigation and so she must uncover the truth about Leah, which is dark and twisted, like Verity.


The Plot by Jean Hanff Korelitz

The Plot is another thriller involving writers, and like Verity, it also moves in different, shocking directions along the way.

It's about a once-respected author and current teacher who uses the fictional plot idea of a student who died in order to earn his way back into literary fame and fortune.

And it seems to be working -- until he starts receiving threatening anonymous messages. The anxiety of the situation causes him to investigate the truth behind the story, like Verity, in one of the most unique thrillers I've read to date.


The Push by Ashley Audrain

The Push reminds me of Verity because it's a shocking thriller with dark themes involving motherhood.

Blythe is a mother who believes her first child, Violet, may be evil at her core, but she bonds with her son, Sam. As she struggles to figure out the truth about Violet and navigate these unfavorable feelings, the reader is left questioning what's real and who is good and evil, just like Verity.

It's the kind of thriller that really makes you think about life. In fact, I'm still thinking about it.


Rebecca by Daphne duMaurier

"Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again..."

- Daphne du Maurier

So begins the classic suspense novel Rebecca from the Rory Gilmore book list. Rebecca also happens to have a great Netflix adaptation!

It's a slow burn, both creepy and atmospheric, as the reader never meets Rebecca, who has already died. This is similar to how Verity is a major character but not communicative, in Verity.

A lower-class female servant quickly marries Rebecca's wealthy older widow and moves to his swoon-worthy estate Manderley. Upon arrival, his deceased first wife, Rebecca, lingers in the memories of the staff.

The question is whether there was more to Rebecca's death, and whether she was good or evil, like Verity.

Similar to Verity, the last 100 pages of Rebecca also leave you wanting more.


The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

Instant #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller

The Silent Patient is a massively popular, page-turning thriller that contains a really amazing twist and a "silent" major character, like Verity.

Famous painter Alicia shot her fashion photographer husband five times in the face, then never spoke another word again.

But criminal psychotherapist Theo Faber is determined to get her to talk. In the process, he goes down a twisted part of revealing why he is so consumed with her silence.

Related Post: Summary and Book Club Questions for The Silent Patient


We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

We Have Always Lived in the Castle is, like Verity, one of the most disturbing books I have ever read! I mean, just look at that book cover. Teenager Merricat lives with her ill uncle and agoraphobic sister, Constance, in an isolated New England home.

Six years earlier, similar to Verity, the three survived a tragedy. But, this one left Constance on trial for murder. To protect Constance from the judgmental eyes of the town, she now practices magic.

When their cousin Charles visits, they sense danger, and their lives, once again spiral out of control, similar to how the household in Verity degrades when Lowen enters. It's truly a masterful thriller you won't soon forget -- trust me.


When We Were Bright and Beautiful by Jillian Medoff

When We Were Bright and Beautiful is a dark family drama I picked up after hearing so many people say it was an unputdownable book, like people often say about Verity. And... neither could I.

When the college student son of a well-to-do family is put on trial for rape, his adopted sibling Cassie narrates the courtroom drama, as confusing questions about whether her brother did it permeate her mind.

In the suspenseful process of learning whether he will be found guilty or not guilty, extremely dark family secrets are also revealed, like Verity. This one also leaves the reader with A LOT to unpack about the storyline and the characters.


The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Instant New York Times bestseller

The Wife Between Us totally delivers on twists and unreliable female narrators in a romantic suspense novel, similar to Verity.

A naive teacher named Nellie feels like she is being followed as she plans her wedding to an older man, Richard. Previously, Richard had dumped his first wife, Vanessa, and left her forced to start over from the bottom. Vanessa is determined to stop Richard's wedding.

Like Verity, the twists come in the way the story is told, and it will keep you intrigued and likely surprised too!


The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

  • Instant New York Times
  • USA Today Bestseller
  • One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN, Newsweek, Vulture, PopSugar, Parade, BuzzFeed, E!Online, TimeOut, Woman's Day, Goodreads, She Reads, Good Housekeeping, CrimeReads, Frolic, Hello!, Mystery and Suspense
  • January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

The Wife Upstairs is a re-telling of the classic Jane Eyre starring two women (one reported to be dead) and one romantic lead, similar to Verity.

Jane is a broke dog walker to the rich in Birmingham, Alabama, stealing from her employers. But when she meets Eddie, a recent young widower in the wealthy community where she works, she thinks her luck has turned a corner and sets out to date and marry him.

Eddie's wife Bea was renowned for her work, like Verity, and she had a rag-to-riches Southern lifestyle brand. But, she drowned in a boating accident with her best friend.

As Jane and Eddie fall deeper in love, she feels haunted by Bea's absence, the same way Lowen felt haunted by Verity the closer she got to Jeremy.

It's a twisted love triangle with some plot points that will surprise you.


Those are all the best books like Verity by Colleen Hoover. I hope you found one or more to read next!

Shop the full list of books like Verity by Colleen Hoover in one spot in my Amazon shop.

Share this post:

Add a Comment:

300,000+ MONTHLY READERS

The Literary Lifestyle

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!