Pinterest Hidden Image

Explore this guide to Carley Fortune’s books in order to learn everything you need to know about her popular modern romance novels that everyone raves about.

Every summer after by Carley Fortune in front of a bookshelf.

If you participate in bookish social media, you likely know how popular Carley Fortune very quickly became with readers who have completely fallen in love with her emotional and immersive love stories, great for fans of Elin Hilderbrand books, Colleen Hoover books, Emily Henry books, and tantalizing beach reads in general.

At times, her books seem to be ALL I hear about. So, naturally, I read them, and now I’m here to share the details with you.

Carley Fortune Books in Order

Below are Carley Fortune’s books in order of publication:

  1. Every Summer After (2022)
  2. Meet Me at the Lake (2023)
  3. This Summer Will Be Different (2024)


Prior to fiction writing, Carley Fortune was an award-winning journalist and worked as an editor at some of Canada’s top publications. Recently, she also worked as the Executive Editor of Refinery29 Canada.

Quick Summaries and Reviews of Carley Fortune’s Books

Every Summer After by Carley Fortune

  • New York Times bestseller
  • Named one of the Hottest Reads of Summer 2022 by Today, Parade, PopSugar, USA Today, SheReads, BuzzFeed, BookBub, Bustle, and more

Every Summer After has become one of the most widely beloved Summer romance books because it so emotionally captures the nostalgia of first love and the hope of second chances with likable characters.

During six Summers in the small town of Barry’s Bay, teenagers Persephone and Sam fall madly in love. Then, one Thanksgiving, something happens that tears them apart — seemingly for good.

Years later, though, when Persephone returns for the funeral of Sam’s mother, she must determine how she feels about him now, after so much time has passed.

This insanely popular book takes a lot of elements of a great book and balances them just right, from friendship to love, angst, and family drama. It’s one Bookstagram recommendation that totally lived up to the hype for me. And I definitely think you will love it as much as everyone else does!

Like many romance readers, my freelance writer found it to be “absolutely stunning” and the best debut novel she’s read. She hung onto every word in this book and finished it in three days. From the pacing to the character development and the physical descriptions of people and places, she found it all to be so beautifully on point.  

As a “lake girl” herself, she found the setting to be portrayed perfectly, and she also thought Fortune did a tremendous job at portraying young first love with honesty, passion, and vulnerability.

Related Post: Every Summer After Summary & Review

Meet Me at the Lake by Carley Fortune

Meet Me at the Lake is a beautiful story of love, loss, and the inner workings of difficult life decisions that affect not only the main characters, but those around them as well.

Years earlier, Fern and Will had a memorable one-day adventure in the city that really left its mark on Fern. But, Will never showed up to their meeting one year later.

Years later, Fern is back at home, running her mother’s run-down lakeside resort. Think: Dirty Dancing. My freelance writer also felt nods to The Notebook, from the passionate love connection to even the canoeing.

Will appears to help, but he’s a completely different person now, and only Fern may rescue him and determine exactly what lies beneath the surface.

Fern and Will are both likable characters dealing with very real-life issues: where to settle permanently, how to deal with past partners, and how to navigate nontraditional family relationships.

It’s another magical mix of nostalgia and second chances with its fair share of family drama and another lake setting the reader can clearly envision.

I felt that Meet Me at the Lake was not quite as impactful as Every Summer After for me, but it still lived up to the hype and the expectations for a sizzling, yet gripping Summer story about love and family. It’s already become popular with readers.

My freelance writer found it to be a bit of a deviation from most modern-day romances (in a good way), as this gave the story more depth and made the characters more relatable and three-dimensional. They weren’t just beautiful people meeting and having a connection — they felt like real people with real issues who also happen to have a connection.

She found the second half of this story to be far more gripping than the first half and believes this book would be perfect for any summer romance lover or for those who are “lake girls” at heart.

Carley Fortune’s New Book

Carley Fortune’s new book, This Summer Will Be Different, is one of the most anticipated books of the year, which will be released on May 7, 2024.

From the publisher:

Lucy is the tourist vacationing at a beach house on Prince Edward Island. Felix is the local who shows her a very good time. The only problem: Lucy doesn’t know he’s her best friend’s younger brother. Lucy and Felix’s chemistry is unreal, but the list of reasons why they need to stay away from each other is long, and they vow to never repeat that electric night again.

It’s easier said than done.

Each year, Lucy escapes to PEI for a big breath of coastal air, fresh oysters and crisp vinho verde with her best friend, Bridget. Every visit begins with a long walk on the beach, beneath soaring red cliffs and a golden sun. And every visit, Lucy promises herself she won’t wind up in Felix’s bed. Again.

If Lucy can’t help being drawn to Felix, at least she’s always kept her heart out of it.

When Bridget suddenly flees Toronto a week before her wedding, Lucy drops everything to follow her to the island. Her mission is to help Bridget through her crisis and resist the one man she’s never been able to. But Felix’s sparkling eyes and flirty quips have been replaced with something new, and Lucy’s beginning to wonder just how safe her heart truly is.

Frequently Asked Questions

What books has Carley Fortune written?

Carley Fortune is the bestselling author of three popular contemporary romance novels: Every Summer After (2022), Meet Me at the Lake (2023), and This Summer Will Be Different (2024).

Is Meet Me at the Lake a sequel?

No. Meet Me at the Lake by Carley Fortune is a standalone novel with no connection to her other novel, Every Summer After.

Are Carley Fortune books a series?

No. Carley Fortune’s books are all standalone novels.

Is Every Summer After and Meet Me at the Lake a series?

No. Every Summer After and Meet Me at the Lake by Carley Fortune are standalone novels with no connection to each other.

Is Carley Fortune writing a new book?

Yes. Carley Fortune’s new book, This Summer Will Be Different, will be released on May 7, 2024.


Carley Fortune’s books in order are Every Summer After (2022; popular pick), Meet Me at the Lake (2023), and This Summer Will Be Different (2024). If you like modern, emotional, and immersive love stories, you will love these books.


Keep the conversation going! Share what you love most about Carley Fortune’s books or any remaining questions you have in the comments below.

Save This Post Form

Save This Post for Later!

Get this post instantly sent straight to your email inbox so you have it for later. Plus, you’ll get The Literary Lifestyle's newsletter.

Leave a Comment or Question

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *