Pinterest Hidden Image

Explore the Elin Hilderbrand Winter series in order with summaries and reviews of these festive books in which the quirky Quinn family will get you in the holiday spirit with Christmastime drama at their Nantucket inn.

elin hilderbrand book ornament


Elin Hilderbrand Winter Series in Order

Below is the order of the four books in the Winter series by Elin Hilderbrand. As mentioned, you should definitely start at the beginning and read the four books in publication order, as the plot is chronological.

  1. Winter Street (2014)
  2. Winter Stroll (2015)
  3. Winter Storms (2016)
  4. Winter Solstice (2017)

Details on the Winter Series Books

As a longtime fan of Elin Hilderbrand’s books (I even have an Elin Hilderbrand book ornament for my Christmas tree, pictured above), I share everything you need to know about the Elin Hilderbrand Winter series.

I was pleasantly surprised by my reading experience of this entire series! It was first intended to be one book, then became a trilogy, then a quartet. I wasn’t expecting to learn this, as I felt all four books followed a very natural progression overall and seemed like a complete story split into four “parts.”

Warning: THERE ARE SPOILERS BELOW. I try to limit them as much as possible, but in summarizing the plot points of each book in a series, some details of how the storylines have progressed must necessarily be revealed.

1. Winter Street (2014)

Winter Street is the perfect mix of family drama and holiday spirit. It remains one of the best Elin Hilderbrand books to date. Kelley Quinn owns the Nantucket Winter Street Inn and is the proud father of four grown children, all of whose personal lives are in a state of chaos.

The oldest, Patrick, is a hedge fund manager dealing with a white-collar crime. Bartender Kevin has a secret relationship with the Inn’s housekeeper. Teacher Ava can’t get her dream boyfriend to commit. And Bart, the youngest, and the only child of Kelley’s second marriage to Mitzi, is fighting overseas in the Marines.

Christmas approaches, and Kelley walks in on Mitzi kissing the Inn’s Santa Claus, bringing all of the families’ drama to a head. It becomes up to Kelley’s first wife, famous news anchor Margaret Quinn, to attempt to save Christmas.

Since family sagas are my favorite genre, I loved Winter Street as a holiday read, especially as it maintained a lightly dramatic feeling, as all of Elin Hilderbrand’s books do. The Quinn family is memorable and infectious, and their preppy Nantucket inn is a perfectly charming setting with traditional Christmas details you can just picture in your mind’s eye.

2. Winter Stroll (2015)

Winter Stroll picks up during the following Christmas season, particularly during Nantucket’s Christmas Stroll. But, all is not as happy-go-lucky as it may seem.

Kelley is single, but he is getting along with his first wife, Margaret, who is using her fame to make the Winter Street Inn a hit. Kevin and the Inn’s housekeeper, Isabelle, have a daughter named Genevieve. Ava is dating Scott, her dedicated co-worker. Patrick is in jail, and his wife Jennifer is struggling. Lastly, Bart’s whereabouts are unknown.

The family looks forward to celebrating Genevieve’s baptism, but Kelley’s second ex-wife, Mitzi, makes appearances, along with another guest from Christmases past, to stir the pot. This year, the Quinns must find a balance between old and new loves in order to have a happy holiday season.

It’s a super quick read that keeps the storylines moving along while also looking forward to what may happen next Christmas.

3. Winter Storms (2016)

In Winter Storms, Mitzi returns, Patrick is about to be released from prison, Kevin’s new business is thriving, and news about Bart in Afghanistan is hopeful. While all may seem well, the remaining family members struggle with really big issues like health, addiction, and a love triangle.

With all of this family joy and drama as a backdrop, this Christmas brings Kevin’s and Isabelle’s wedding at the Winter Street Inn, where a massive blizzard threatens their happy day.

In this third of four books in the series, I really felt like both the storylines of the characters and the festivity of the season all really reached a climax. There’s a lot more action in this particular book, and it kept me super engaged in the events and feeling all the feelings of the holidays as well. I loved it!

4. Winter Solstice (2017)

Winter Solstice concludes the Elin Hilderbrand Winter series, as Bart arrives home safely from Afghanistan, and the remainder of the family is finally experiencing joyful times as well… that is, except one very important family member, whose health is in crisis.

It wouldn’t be Christmas at the Winter Street Inn without some drama in this epic finale to the holiday tales of the Quinn family, and this book is filled with happiness, sadness, and change, as the solstice arrives and the days begin to get longer again.

This book truly felt to me like the end of the story of the Quinn family Christmases.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the order of Elin Hilderbrand Winter books?

The order of Elin Hilderbrand’s Winter books is: 1. Winter Street (2014); 2. Winter Stroll (2015); 3. Winter Storms (2016); and 4. Winter Solstice (2017).

What order should I read Elin Hilderbrand Winter series?

You should read the four books in the Winter series in the order they were published, as they follow a chronological plot with the same characters: 1. Winter Street (2014); 2. Winter Stroll (2015); 3. Winter Storms (2016); and 4. Winter Solstice (2017).

Do you have to read the Winter Street series in order?

Yes. Since Elin Hilderbrand’s Winter series follows the same characters in a chronological storyline, it is recommended that you read them in the order they were published: 1. Winter Street (2014); 2. Winter Stroll (2015); 3. Winter Storms (2016); and 4. Winter Solstice (2017).

Is Winter Solstice by Elin Hilderbrand part of a series?

Yes. Winter Solstice by Elin Hilderbrand is book four of four in her Winter series of Christmas books.


The four books in the Elin Hilderbrand Winter series make for a truly festive and enjoyable holiday reading experience in which you can indulge in both a Nantucket setting and the lives of the same characters over several holiday seasons. It remains a Christmastime favorite of both myself and Elin Hilderbrand fans worldwide.

To recap the most important point, you should definitely read them in order of publication in order to avoid spoilers:

  1. Winter Street (2014)
  2. Winter Stroll (2015)
  3. Winter Storms (2016)
  4. Winter Solstice (2017)

If you loved the Elin Hilderbrand Winter series, you will love these Christmas books too:

Save This Post Form

Save This Post for Later!

Get this post instantly sent straight to your email inbox so you have it for later. Plus, you’ll get The Literary Lifestyle's newsletter.

Leave a Comment or Question

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *