Skip to Content

Books Like The Last Mrs. Parrish (Liv Constantine)

Share this post:

Are you looking for books like The Last Mrs. Parrish? When I think of The Last Mrs. Parrish, I think of twisty thrillers involving two lead women and one lead man. I also think of books where a character or characters aren't who they seem or are playing "a role," as well as characters of different economic classes.

This post is all about what to read after The Last Mrs. Parrish.

Since The Last Mrs. Parrish, a popular Reese Witherspoon’s book club pick, is also consistently one of the top-selling books on my blog, I am sharing below a summary of The Last Mrs. Parrish, followed by books like The Last Mrs. Parrish written by authors like Liv Constantine, and even more books by Liv Constantine.

The Last Mrs. Parrish Summary

In The Last Mrs. Parrish by Live Constantine, Amber is a woman with a plan for a bigger life — to take over the glamourous and seemingly perfect life of Daphne Parrish, by getting Daphne out of the picture and becoming the new Mrs. Parrish, married to a handsome real estate mogul.

After Amber and Daphne become friends, the pieces of Amber’s plans start to fall in place … but then spiral into suspenseful and unexpected results.

It's a real page turner, full of dark secrets and diabolical characters.


Books Similar to The Last Mrs. Parrish

Below are my top picks for books like The Last Mrs. Parrish, for what to read after The Last Mrs. Parrish to get twisty thrillers involving two lead women, a leading man, and characters playing "roles" and characters of different economic classes. (These books are all written by authors like Liv Constantine!)

Rebecca by Daphne duMaurier

"Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again..."

- Daphne du Maurier

So begins the classic thriller Rebecca, which is on the Rory Gilmore book list. It also happens to be on Netflix as a new adaptation (but the book is definitely better!)

It's a slow burn with a creepy and atmospheric feel. The reader never actually meets Rebecca, who has passed away when the story begins.

Rather, a lower class woman without a family, working as a servant, meets and quickly marries Rebecca's wealthy older widow -- the owner of the vast estate known as Manderley.

Upon her arrival at Manderley, the "ghost" of his first wife, Rebecca, lingers in the actions of the staff, who refuse to let go of the memory of Rebecca and how utterly perfect she was.

But, this is a thriller and so, there's so much more to the truth behind Rebecca's tragic death.

Maurier's writing is immersive, and the last 100 pages leave you wanting more as you wonder what a sequel may uncover.


The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

While I haven't yet read The Other Mrs. myself, I have read other books by Kubica and liked them, and several readers named this as one of their favorite books like The Last Mrs. Parrish.

Just after Sadie and Will move from the big city to small-town Maine, their neighbor is found dead in her home.

The death puts Sadie on edge, and when eyes of suspicion look toward the new family in town, she tries to uncover what happed really happened the night of the death, giving her a lot to lose in the process.


The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

Instant New York Times best seller

The Wife Between Us is FILLED with twists and is probably the most similar overall of all the books like The Last Mrs. Parrish. Nellie is a naive teacher who senses she is being followed as she plans her wedding to an older man named Richard.

Previously, Richard had left his first wife, Vanessa, who was forced to start her life over from rock bottom. And Vanessa is determined to stop Richard's wedding.

The twists uniquely come in the way the story is told, and this book will keep you intrigued and likely surprised!


The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

  • Instant New York Times
  • USA Today Bestseller
  • One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN• Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online • TimeOut • Woman's Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! • Mystery and Suspense
  • January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

The Wife Upstairs is one of the newer books like The Last Mrs. Parrish. In this re-telling of the classic Jane Eyre, Jane is a broke dog walker to the rich in Birmingham, Alabama, stealing from her employers.

But when she meets Eddie, a recent young widower in the wealthy community where she works, she thinks her luck has turned a corner and sets out to date and marry him.

Eddie's wife Bea, had a rag to riches Southern lifestyle brand, and she had drowned in a boating accident with her best friend. As Jane and Eddie fall deeper in love, Jane feels haunted by Bea's absence.

This is one twisted love triangle generating a lot of buzz, with some plot points you may expect and some that will surprise you. I quite enjoyed it!


The Wives by Tarryn Fisher

  • An Instant Bestseller
  • The New York Times USA Today The Globe and Mail The Toronto Star

While I haven't yet read The Wives myself, several readers named this as one of their favorite books like The Last Mrs. Parrish.

The plot really leaves you guessing: Thursday is so in love with Seth that she marries him knowing he has two other wives, about whom she knows nothing. Then, she finds something that tells a very different and horrifying story about her husband.


Verity by Colleen Hoover

  • My top pick from this list
  • A number-one bestseller in several Amazon categories with tens of thousands of five-star ratings on Amazon and Goodreads

I don't know anyone who comes away from Verity NOT in utter shock. For that reason, it's the top book I recommend to others looking for a disturbing psychological thriller or an escape book. I read it in one sitting, and I know several others who have also done so.

When struggling writer Lowen accepts a job from Jeremy, the husband of best-selling author Verity, to complete the writing of her books after Verity sustains terrible injuries. But as Lowen sorts through Verity's materials, she finds Verity's autobiography, which is filled with an array of truly chilling events that are almost guaranteed to make you gasp in horror.

Meanwhile, Lowen develops feelings for Jeremy. But that's just the beginning, and I will leave the rest of the thrilling details for you to find out.


Books by Liv Constantine

If instead, you prefer to read more books from author Liv Constantine, below is Constantine's new book and all her books in order.

Liv Constantine's New Book

Liv Constantine's new book is The Stranger in the Mirror (publication date July 6, 2021), a twisted psychological thriller about a woman with no memory of her past and a man searching for his missing wife.

All of Liv Constantine's Books in Order

Below are all the books by Liv Constantine to date, in chronological order.


Those are the best books like The Last Mrs. Parrish, including a summary of The Last Mrs. Parrish and all other books by Liv Constantine.

Shop the list of books similar to The Last Mrs. Parrish on Amazon.

Share this post:

Add a Comment:

250,000+ MONTHLY READERS

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!