Skip to Content

3 Books to Read After You Watch the Free Britney Documentary

If you are interested in learning more about the #FreeBritney movement, I recommend 3 books to read after you watch the Free Britney documentary, Framing Britney Spears, an expose on how beloved singer Britney Spears rose to fame, but also suffered from mental health and a decade long conservatorship that controlled her every move and dollar well into her adulthood, and while she continued to work as a global pop superstar.

It aims to provide empathy and actual freedom from these constraints for Britney in the near future.

I also give you details on where to watch Framing Britney Spears, details about the #FreeBritney movement (including Britney's Gram podcast and Deep Dive's 5 part documentary on YouTube about #FreeBritney), how to follow the movement on Wikipedia, and the celebrities that support #FreeBritney.

I was a "super fan" of Britney Spears as a teenager of the same age as her, and idolized everything from her hair to her clothes and, of course, her famous then-boyfriend, Justin Timberlake.

After watching Framing Britney Spears, I, like so many others, felt deeply for her and her unfair circumstances, and I thought for a long time about how we, as a society, interact and engage with female teen stars.

It reminded me of 3 recent books I read, and I wanted to share them with you. The tagline of the blog is "where books meet lifestyle," and my goal is to provide pairings of books and lifestyle so that you can get the most full picture on a topic. So, below are 3 books to read after you watch the Free Britney documentary plus more about the movement.

Where to Watch Framing Britney Spears

Framing Britney Spears is documentary available to watch on Hulu, FX and YouTube.

The #FreeBritney Movement

Free Britney podcast

Beginning in 2017, the podcast Britney's Gram began breaking down the posts on Britney's Instagram page, and whether they were conveying cries for help. Hosts Tess Barker and Barbara Gray became the originators of the #FreeBritney movement.

Catch up on the Britney's Gram podcast.

Deep Dive's #FreeBritney Documentary

The YouTube channel Deep Dive published a really in-depth 5 part documentary on the #FreeBritney movement. It expands in so much greater detail on everything that was discussed in Framing Britney Spears, and it leaves you with a far greater understanding of Britney Spears' backstory and conservatorship. It's long, but if you are really interested in the topic, the content is excellent.

Watch part 1 below:

Free Britney Movement on Wikipedia

As the battle over Britney's conservatorship continues as part of the #FreeBritney movement, you can keep up with the most current information on Wikipedia:

Celebrities who support #FreeBritney

In the wake of the #FreeBritney movement and the release of Framing Britney Spears, several celebrities have offered her support, including: Bette Midler, Sarah Jessica Parker, Miley Cyrus, Paris Hilton, Valerie Bertinelli, Heather Matarazzo, Khloe Kadashian, Kacey Musgraves, Christina Milian, Cher, Andy Cohen, Meghan McCain, Sharon Stone, Garbage, Tamron Hall, Ellie Goulding, Sam Smith, Ariel Winter, Liz Phair, Courtney Love Cobain, Vanessa Carlton, Amber Tamblyn, Olivia Newton-John, Josh Gad, Kathy Najimy, Sandra Bernhard, Pitbull, Heather Morris and Lucy Hale.

Justin Timberlake also issued a public apology to her.

3 Books to Read After You Watch the Free Britney Documentary

The Comeback by Ella Berman

One of my Best Books of 2020!

The Comeback is a Read with Jenna book club pick that delves into the damaged psyche of a young actress who was raised as a child star in Hollywood under the control of a charming and beloved, but very manipulative, film director. The book takes place at the moment when she decides to expose his sexual abuse of her after she is asked to present him a lifetime achievement award. Having lived in hiding for a year, she is staging her penultimate comeback.

The Comeback explores the power of adults in Hollywood and the naivety of child stars, as well as how dark secrets can define one's self and the moment of fighting back -- all of which parallels Britney Spears' circumstances. This book contains the most breathtaking first page I have ever read and, from there, the reader continues on a heart-racing, page-turning ride into the life and mind of a fractured starlet. Reading this book actually feels like watching a movie, as the words so vividly come to life.


Open Book by Jessica Simpson

One of my Best Books of 2020!

Jessica Simpson's memoir Open Book is a very candid and real reflection on a very public life, which is very similar to that of Britney Spears. They are nearly the same age and rose to fame in their teen years.

Jessica speaks about how their paths often crossed in those early years, both competing for the Mickey Mouse Club and releasing debut albums at the same time. Jessica was even confused for Britney at times. Jessica discusses feeling the effects of this "rivalry" and how it impacted her own self-esteem.

Jessica also discusses issues like self-image, and how much demand record labels made about her weight in her very formative teenage years, causing her a great deal of anxiety.

The lines between family and business often crossed in Jessica's life, like Britney's, with her family taking on active roles in her professional life, often blurring the lines and causing turmoil.

Jessica also tells all about what it was like to have a very public relationship with Nick Lachey at a young age, for all the world to see, and how difficult it was to cope with the breakup both personally and how it was perceived in the public. This is so reminiscent of what Britney Spears experienced in her relationship with Britney Spears and the aftermath.

Open Book leaves you feeling true empathy for Jessica Simpson, and those, like Britney, in similar circumstances. She doesn't hide away from any topic, and you leave the book feeling like she's a friend.

For more, check out my full review of Open Book, with my top takeaways, discussion questions and book pairings.


The Unraveling of Cassidy Holmes by Elissa R. Sloan

Best for fans of Daisy Jones & The Six

The Unraveling of Cassidy Holmes is about the suicide of a pop superstar and the events 20 years earlier that seem to have led to that moment. I share it not to be morbid, as I truly wish for a long life of happiness for Britney, but because this popular book does show similarities about the effects of exponential fame on a young woman.

Cassidy Holmes was an ordinary, homebody type American girl who became a contestant on a televised singing competition at the turn of the millennium, and the fourth member of America's hottest girl group, alongside acts like Britney herself and 'N Sync. Then, the group suddenly imploded in 2002. 

Twenty years later, Cassidy's former group members cope with her death. As they wonder whether they could have done anything to prevent it, they recount the highs and lows of living with all eyes on your every move at such an impressionable age: drugs, volatile relationships, sexualization of their personas, abuse in Hollywood, secrets, backstabbing, fear of crazed fans and so much more.

"Unraveling" is such a poignant word to describe Cassidy -- whose life and music career was once tied tightly at the height of her fame but somehow unwound over the years that followed, much like Britney Spears.

The Unraveling of Cassidy Holmes is told in multiple perspectives and different timelines, in a way that provides a behind-the-scenes glimpse into how a pop icon can rise and fall when she is treated more as a commodity than a person. It tells a full story about the past, while still also leaving a lot for the reader to think about and discuss with others about what may have caused Cassidy's unraveling. I loved it!


Those are the 3 best books to read after you watch the Free Britney documentary. I really enjoyed all three of these books, and two of them even made my list of best books of 2020!

Click below to buy one or more on Amazon:

Share this post:

Add a Comment:

Yalana

Wednesday 3rd of March 2021

I haven't had a chance to watch the documentary yet. I used to love her music too. Great post!!

Courtney

Wednesday 3rd of March 2021

I absolutely love this post! Just finished watching the Free Britney documentary so definitely adding these to my list!

200,000+ MONTHLY READERS

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!