Skip to Content

Book Review of One to Watch by Kate Stayman London

Calling all fans of The Bachelor/ette! This book review of One to Watch gives you everything you need to know about reading the book. And because this is a book pairings blog “where books meet lifestyle,” I have also provided some recommended lifestyle companions for you to enjoy with the book.

Review of One to Watch by Kate Stayman London


One to Watch was an impressive debut about Bea Schumacher, a plus-size fashion blogger who is offered the lead role in the Bachelor-like show Main Squeeze.  She accepts the spot, but only in order to supercharge her career and subvert anti-fat beauty standards -- not to fall in love.

Being the lead is just as dramatic as one would expect.  There are guys there "for the wrong reason," production antics, a past lover and the ever-present feelings and discussions about Bea's size. 

But there's also a lot of heart.  No one is perfect, including Bea, and many of the main characters are forced to face a lot of demons, as they live in front of a lens and try to find love.  The book as a whole is refreshing, and the character of Bea is extra refreshing, as the reader empathizes with a very real woman. 

One to Watch is my kind of rom-com.  It's a lighthearted, feel-good story about an underrepresented protagonist, with depth, complexity and twists along that way.  And it's perfect for fans of The Bachelor and/or body positivity. I named it one of my Best Books of 2020.

Read more reviews on Amazon.

Book + Lifestyle Pairings

For more like One to Watch:


That concludes this book review of One to Watch with some recommended lifestyle companions for you to enjoy with the book.

Buy One to Watch:

Share this post:

Add a Comment:

200,000+ MONTHLY READERS

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!