Skip to Content

7 Authors Like Elin Hilderbrand You'll Love

Share this post:

This list of authors like Elin Hilderbrand is perfect for fans of the Nantucket "Queen of the Beach Reads" herself. Many of these writers' works are also based in Nantucket and/or explore similar themes of messy family and love situations of modern female characters in charming settings.

woman reading on beach

As a big fan of Elin Hilderbrand's books, I have ventured into these read-a-likes and came up with my best recommendations for those who want to read from authors similar to Elin Hilderbrand.

Once you finish this post, you will want to stock your shelf with dozens of their books to show off and discuss with all your favorite coastal grandmothers at book club!

Below are the best authors like Elin Hilderbrand, including what they generally write about and one particular book I recommend by each one.

Authors Like Elin Hilderbrand

What should I read if I like Elin Hilderbrand?

Read the novels of the following modern female authors if you like Elin Hilderbrand's beach reads:

Mary Kay Andrews
Dorothea Benton Frank
Kristy Woodson Harvey
Pamela Kelley
Brenda Novak
Nancy Thayer
Jennifer Weiner

Mary Kay Andrews

BUY ON AMAZON

Mary Kay Andrews is the New York Times bestselling author of over two dozen novels. Her books feel like true escape reads to me -- generally as light and charming as a Hallmark movie, even if there's a mystery or two at the heart of them.

I'm highlighting her most recent holiday book, The Santa Suit, which felt like Christmas in Stars Hollow (the fictional Connecticut town in Gilmore Girls) to me.


Dorothea Benton Frank

BUY ON AMAZON

Dorothea Benton Frank, author of over 20 bestselling novels, is known to be one of Elin Hilderbrand's own favorite novelists. She is to Southern beach reads what Elin is to New England beach reads. Her novels feature strong Southern women who can be both witty and/or spitfires. Their stories always leave your heart bursting with so much feeling.

I'm highlighting Queen Bee, which is a captivating story of Southern charm and bees, with a mother and her two adult daughters at the core. It's a really light page-turner that always makes me smile when I think about it.


Kristy Woodson Harvey

BUY ON AMAZON

Kristy Woodson Harvey is the New York Times, USA Today and Publisher’s Weekly bestselling author of several novels, and she is most known for modern, female-based stories set in the South, often dealing with emotional journeys in their family and love lives.

I'm highlighting the bestseller Feels Like Falling, set on the North Carolina coast, as two women down on their luck become acquainted by chance and embark on journeys of starting over and discovering what's right for them.


Pamela M. Kelley

BUY ON AMAZON

Pamela Kelley is the Cape Cod-based USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of women’s fiction, family sagas, and light mysteries, often set in Nantucket, feel just like Elin Hilderbrand's novels. 

Nantucket White Christmas was a standout for me that hooked me onto her writing. It centers on an unlucky, unemployed maid, who starts over in Nantucket at Christmastime, where she begins to find the meaning of home.


Brenda Novak

BUY ON AMAZON

Brenda Novak is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling, award-author of over 50 contemporary romance and romantic suspense novels, popular in Elin Hilderbrand's home base of Nantucket (though often set in California).

I'm highlighting the recent Summer on the Island, which is a story of friendship, healing and love, as a woman travels to a Florida island after the death of her U.S. Senator father and learns his secrets.


Nancy Thayer

BUY ON AMAZON

Like Elin Hilderbrand, Nancy Thayer is New York Times bestselling Nantucket-based author. She has written over 30 fictional mysteries and romance books about family and love, often set in Nantucket.

I'm highlighting Summer Love, in which a group of old friends gathers on Nantucket on Summer, stirring up old secrets, jealousies, and betrayals, as their twentysomething children embark on new adventures of their own.


Jennifer Weiner

BUY ON AMAZON

Jennifer Weiner is a #1 New York Times bestselling Philly-based author (where Hilderbrand grew up) who sets a lot of her novels in both Philly and Massachusetts, just like most of Elin Hilderbrand's novels. They are often Cape Cod-based books set in Summer and feature modern, female-centric stories with a lot of emotional pushes and pulls. They can be "heavier" in content than an Elin Hilderbrand novel, but they are as sharply written.

I'm highlighting That Summer, which deals with the decades-long effects of sexual assault and was one of my favorite, most memorable novels in the year it was published.


Now you know all the best authors like Elin Hilderbrand to read next.

Pin this post to Pinterest because you can refer back to it when you want to read from an author similar to Elin Hilderbrand.

Share this post:

Add a Comment:

250,000+ MONTHLY READERS

Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!