Skip to Content

Updated Guide to All the Anne Rice Books in Order

Share this post:

Get an updated guide to all the Anne Rice books in order here to help you decide what to read first or next. This post is meant as a tribute to the beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author of over 100 million books, who recently passed away at the time this post was written.

First, I talk about Anne Rice herself and answer frequently asked questions about her, then I share all of the Anne Rice books in order of chronological publishing date and lastly, I share all of the Anne Rice books in order of each of her many series.

About Anne Rice

American author Anne Rice died in December 2021 at the age of 80 after a stroke. Originally fron New Orleans, she has a Master of Arts Degree in English and Creative Writing from San Francisco State University, along with a Bachelor's Degree in Political Science. She authored over thirty novels and was one of the world's most esteemed writers of supernatural fiction involving vampires, witches, and mummies. Her most popular book was her 1976 debut book, Interview with the Vampire, which was adapted into a popular movie in 1994.

Below are answers to a few frequently asked questions about Anne Rice.

What is the real name of Anne Rice?

Anne Rice's real name is Howard Allen Frances O'Brien. She was named after her father because her mother thought this would help her to get farther ahead in life, but she called herself Anne and later changed her name legally. Anne Rice has also used two pen names: Anne Rampling and A. N. Roquelaure.

Where is Anne Rice from?

Anne Rice is from New Orleans, Louisiana. If fact, many of her books are set in New Orleans.

What is the latest Anne Rice book?

The latest Anne Rice book is Blood Communion, which was published in 2018. It was the thirteenth book in The Vampire Chronicles book series, which began with her first and most popular book, Interview with the Vampire.

What was the last book Anne Rice wrote?

The last book Anne Rice wrote was The Reign of Osiris, the third book in the Ramses the Damned series. Rice wrote it with her son, Christopher Rice, and it is scheduled to be released on February 1, 2022.

Read Anne Rice's biography and obituary for more about Anne Rice.

All Anne Rice Books in Order of Chronological Publishing Date

This section includes all the Anne Rice books in order, with both novels and nonfiction books.

Because I think people coming to this post will specifically be looking for Anne Rice's fiction and nonfiction books only, this post does not include boxed sets, anthologies in which she wrote, graphic novels, short stories, or books about Anne Rice.

  1. Interview with the Vampire (1976)
  2. The Feast of All Saints (1979)
  3. Cry to Heaven (1982)
  4. The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (1983)
  5. Beauty's Punishment (1984)
  6. Exit to Eden (May 1, 1985)
  7. Beauty's Release (June 3, 1985)
  8. The Vampire Lestat (October 31, 1985)
  9. Belinda (1986)
  10. The Queen of the Damned (1988)
  11. The Mummy or Ramses the Damned (1989)
  12. The Witching Hour (1990)
  13. The Tale of the Body Thief (1992)
  14. Lasher (1993)
  15. Taltos (1994)
  16. Memnoch the Devil (1995)
  17. Servant of the Bones (1996)
  18. Violin (1997)
  19. Pandora (January 6, 1998)
  20. The Vampire Armand (October 10, 1998)
  21. Vittorio the Vampire (1999)
  22. Merrick (2000)
  23. Blood and Gold (2001)
  24. Blackwood Farm (2002)
  25. Blood Canticle (2003)
  26. Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt (2005)
  27. Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana (March 4, 2008)
  28. Called Out of Darkness: A Spiritual Confession (October 7, 2008)
  29. Angel Time (2009)
  30. Of Love & Evil (2010)
  31. The Wolf Gift (2012)
  32. The Wolves of Mid-Winter (2013)
  33. Prince Lestat (2014)
  34. Beauty's Kingdom (2015)
  35. Prince Lestat and the Realms of Atlantis (2016)
  36. Ramses the Damned: The Passion of Cleopatra (2017)
  37. Blood Communion: A Tale of Prince Lestat (2018)
  38. The Reign of Osiris (2022)

Anne Rice Books in Order of Chronological Publishing Date and Categorized by Series

This section is meant for the fans of Anne Rice's book series. There are no standalone books in this section.

The Vampire Chronicles

The Vampire Chronicles begins with Rice's most popular book (and movie adaptation) Interview with the Vampire, and it is about Lestat de Lioncourt, a French nobleman who turned into a vampire in the 18th century. The series follows Lestat and other characters, but it centers on Lestat.  

  1. Interview With The Vampire (1976)
  2. The Vampire Lestat (1985)
  3. The Queen of the Damned (1988)
  4. The Tale of the Body Thief (1992)
  5. Memnoch the Devil (1995)
  6. The Vampire Armand (1998)
  7. Merrick (2000)
  8. Blood and Gold (2001)
  9. Blackwood Farm (2002)
  10. Blood Canticle (2003)
  11. Prince Lestat (2014)
  12. Prince Lestat and the Realms of Atlantis (2016)
  13. Blood Communion: A Tale of Prince Lestat (2018)

The Sleeping Beauty Series

The Sleeping Beauty series is Rice's re-telling of the life of the princess for adults, exploring sexual desires.

  1. The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (1983)
  2. Beauty's Punishment (1984)
  3. Beauty's Release (1985)
  4. Beauty’s Kingdom (2015)

Ramses the Damned Series

The Ramses the the Damned series follows Ramses the Great, the former pharaoh of Egypt, who is reawakened by the elixir of life in Edwardian England as an immortal man with a fiance and an enemy in the once-great Queen Cleopatra.

  1. The Mummy or Ramses the Damned (1989)
  2. Ramses the Damned: The Passion of Cleopatra (2017)
  3. The Reign of Osiris (2022)

Lives of the Mayfair Witches Series

The Lives of the Mayfair Witches follows a surgeon who finds out that she is the heir to a family of witches, as she grapples with her new powers and contends with that which has haunted her family for generations.

  1. The Witching Hour (1990)
  2. Lasher (1993)
  3. Taltos (1994)

New Tales of the Vampires

The New Tales of the Vampires begins with vampire David Talbot, who wants to become a chronicler of his fellow Undead. The second book then tells the story of Vittorio, a vampire in the Italian Age of Gold, coping with doomed young love and lost innocence.

  1. Pandora (1998)
  2. Vittorio the Vampire (1999)

Vampire/Mayfair Crossover Series

In the Vampire/Mayfair crossover series, the Mayfair Witches become part of the world of The Vampire Chronicles.

Christ the Lord Series

The Christ the Lord series follows the life of Jesus Christ and is based on the Gospels and on the most respected New Testament scholarship.

  1. Christ the Lord: Out of Egypt (2005)
  2. Christ the Lord: The Road to Cana (2008)

Songs of the Seraphim Series

The Songs of the Seraphim series is about a contract killer who is offered the chance to save lives rather than end them.

  1. Angel Time (2009)
  2. Of Love and Evil (2010)

The Wolf Gift Chronicles

The Wolf Gift Chronicles begin with the story of an esteemed journalist who is attacked by and turned into a werewolf. Rice loved the story and characters so much, she continued it in a second books.

  1. The Wolf Gift (2012)
  2. The Wolves of Mid-Winter (2013)

Those are all the Anne Rice books in order, which I share as a tribute to her. May this beloved literary giant rest in peace.

Share this post:

Add a Comment:

Eve york

Friday 4th of February 2022

I really appreciate this list. So many I wasn't aware of.

Jules Buono

Sunday 6th of February 2022

Great! Hope you enjoy reading more of her works.


Sharing is Caring

Help spread the word. You're awesome for doing it!